Poem For The Sunday Lectionary (Epiphany 2, Yr B)

THE ONE WHOSE HEART IS SEARCHING
(I Samuel 3: 1-10; John 1: 43-51)

Samuel on his bed beside the lamp,
its flame describing in slow pulses

the flickering hope
of a lonely, quiet yearning;

the hollow stillness
like a silent pond where

a searching voice could be heard
like a dropping pebble.

And in the dark and in the emptiness
the One who is doing the calling,

the One whose heart is searching,
is the unheard God.

*

Nathanael on the ground
under the fig tree, looking

up through its leaves at
an empty sky.

The leaves sift the sunlight,
its harshness is filtered,

but the shade over his soul
shows little gleam of joy.

His heart nearly closed
in its quest for truth,

his horizons have dimmed,
no corners of hope discerned.

But there is One who
remains watching and looking,

and the One who is searching for him
is the unrecognized God.

*

You and me on our beds,
our couches, you and me by our lamps.

You and me under spreading trees,
or peering at the sky through windows;

you and me at our office desks,
fingering the plastic of keyboards;

you and me in our living-rooms,
or sitting at our kitchen tables;

you and me, so yearning for hope,
so longing for meaning, truth, or joy –

may we become aware of the One
who is searching for us;

awake to the One
who knows and calls our names

longing for us to listen:
the God of promise and of invitation.

11 thoughts on “Poem For The Sunday Lectionary (Epiphany 2, Yr B)

  1. Thank you, Andy, for such a solid, almost haunting, expression of this Sunday’s theme. I’d like your permission to share this poem with my colleagues in text study group–about 20 copies.

    Gratefully,
    Pastor Barb Spaulding
    Trinity Lutheran Church
    Moville IA

    • Andy King says:

      Thank you for your gracious comment. I am honored! Please feel free to share copies of my poem in whatever way you feel is useful. Blessings to you, your colleagues, and all your ministries.

  2. Tim says:

    At first I thought, okay, so someone wrote a poem. Then somewhere in the reading of it I was suddenly there under the tree with the leaves sifting the sunlight. And upon rereading your words I was transported to a different place and time, yet still my place and time. The wind and the sunlight and the quiet darkness, I was there. Thank you for leading me into prayer.

  3. alanyount says:

    As Pastor Spaulding said, this is a beautifully haunting expression of this Sunday’s readings. I, too, would like to share it with my congregation in an e-mail newsletter, with full credit to you and a link to your blog.

    • Andy King says:

      I am very grateful that you visited, and that you like my poem. Please feel free to share it (thanks for the credit and the link!) any way you think would be helpful. Blessings to you and your congregation!

  4. Diane Boyer says:

    Loved your poem and I am using it along with my sermon this Sunday Pastor Diane, SC Will credit you of course !

  5. Dianne Crewe says:

    I will share your poem with my congregation tomorrow. It is very beautifully written. Of course, I will be giving credit to you. God’s blessings.
    Rev. Dianne Crewe, Campbellton Pastoral Charge, Loon Bay, NL. Canada. The United Church of Canada.

    • Andy King says:

      God’s blessings to you and to the good folk of Loon Bay and the Campbellton Pastoral Charge. Thanks for visiting my blog!

  6. Veronica says:

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

