Poem For The Sunday Lectionary (Epiphany 4, Yr C)

ESCAPING FROM THE BOXES
(Luke 4: 21-30)

There you go again, God, moving to the margins,
taking love to the outcast and the alien,
breaking through the barriers we’ve constructed from our prejudice,
a light that shines into the world’s dark corners;
unfettered by our selfishness, unhindered by our blindness,
there you go, defying our expectations,
surprising us with the wideness of your grace.

There you go again, God, slipping through our fingers,
escaping from the boxes put around you,
crossing fences of theology we build to hold you prisoner,
a wind that blows beyond our closed horizons;
uncaptured by our doctrines, unbounded by our dogmas,
there you go, defying our expectations,
surprising us with the freedom of your grace.

There you go again, God, calling us to a journey,
prodding us to leave our shells of comfort,
bidding us to examine the rigid shelters of our thinking,
a voice that reaches deep within our souls;
undiscouraged by our stubbornness, patient in our fearfulness,
there you go, defying our expectations,
surprising us with the closeness of your grace.

Copyright ©2016 by Andrew King

4 thoughts on “Poem For The Sunday Lectionary (Epiphany 4, Yr C)

  1. sheilaslone says:

    Hello Andrew,
    I love the words of this poem and would love to use it with my congregation. I will cite you with full credit – your words finish my sermon on this passage very well. Please continue to write poems, your words are inspiring.

  2. Morar says:

    Yet again I come to the text empty, and again, I am inspired by your poem!

  3. Heather says:

    I had the pleasure of reading this poem via a post from Morar Murray-Hayes. It is simply beautiful. Would you be okay with me using this in our upcoming newsletter? I will ensure that full credit is given to you. I’m at Eglinton St. George’s UC. I look forward to reading more. Blessings to you!

  4. Dawn Roucka says:

    That poem is amazing and powerful. Thank you. It helped me reflect on the text that had me speechless. Your words opened my heart, mind and mouth.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.